The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart (Hardcover)

The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart Cover Image
List Price: $16.99
Our Price: $13.59
(Save: $3.40 20%)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Aventurine is a brave young dragon ready to explore the world outside of her family's mountain cave . . . if only they'd let her leave it. Her family thinks she's too young to fly on her own, but she's determined to prove them wrong by capturing the most dangerous prey of all: a human.

But when that human tricks her into drinking enchanted hot chocolate, she's transformed into a puny human without any sharp teeth, fire breath, or claws. Still, she's the fiercest creature in these mountains--and now she's found her true passion: chocolate. All she has to do is get to the human city to find herself an apprenticeship (whatever that is) in a chocolate house (which sounds delicious), and she'll be conquering new territory in no time . . . won't she?

A classic fantasy with terrific girl power, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Jessica Day George.

Praise for Kat, Incorrigible
Bank Street Best Books of 2012
A Spring 2011 Kids' Indie Next pick
A 2012 ALA/ALSC Notable Children's Book
A Top 40 Pick for the Pennsylvania School Librarians Association

About the Author


Stephanie Burgis grew up in East Lansing, Michigan, but now lives in Wales with her husband and two sons, surrounded by mountains, castles and coffee shops. She is the author of the tween fantasy trilogy, Kat, Incorrigible and the forthcoming historical fantasy adult title, Masks and Shadows.
www.stephanieburgis.com
@stephanieburgis

Praise For…


"Chocolate and dragons, together at last! Like sipping hot cocoa on a cold day, reading this book was an absolute delight. And by the end I felt like a dragon sitting on a pile of gold, knowing I'd found a treasure. Readers of all ages will love this deliciously charming adventure and its feisty dragon-transformed-into-a-girl main character, Aventurine!" - Sheila Grau, author of the Dr. Critchlore's School for Minions series

"In The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart, Aventurine is turned into a girl, but inside she remains ALL dragon, every fierce, lovable inch of her. This story is a delightfully delicious blend of magic spiced with adventure and a heart as sweet and warm as molten chocolate. I completely adored this book!" - Sarah Prineas, author of THE MAGIC THIEF and Winterling series

"The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart is a perfect confection: rich, satisfying, and remarkably delicious." - Caroline Carlson, author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series

"A gloriously fresh story to be read with a steaming cup of chocolate at hand." - starred review, Kirkus Reviews

"Burgis creates a feisty protagonist with a temper that suits her dragon heritage. . . . Readers will be rooting for Adventurine throughout this well-paced, colorful narrative. An appealing chapter book for young fantasy fans." - Booklist

"Aventurine’s fiery spirit is immediately endearing, and a diverse cast of fully realized supporting characters fill out a fantasy world that readers will love to inhabit. Pair with chocolate for maximum enjoyment . . . will satisfy readers who hunger for feel-good tales that pack a girl-power punch, like Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted or the movie Moana." - School Library Journal

"Burgis’ debut title rides on its swift pace and the delightfully feisty Kat, whose fearless and frequently impulsive actions will have readers cheering her on." - Booklist on KAT, INCORRIGIBLE

"Regency romance and fantasy adventure all in one, this is a satisfying read and a promising beginning to a trilogy that is sure to be popular." - School Library Journal on KAT, INCORRIGIBLE

"Romance, humor and magic mark this brisk debut novel." - Kirkus Reviews on KAT, INCORRIGIBLE



Product Details
ISBN: 9781681193434
ISBN-10: 1681193434
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publication Date: May 30th, 2017
Pages: 256
Language: English